If I Had A Gun

If I had a gun, by Gig Ryan, posted without comment.

I’d shoot the man who pulled up slowly in his hot car this morning

I’d shoot the man who whistled from his balcony

I’d shoot the man with things dangling over his creepy chest

in the park when I was contemplating the universe

I’d shoot the man who can’t look me in the eye

who stares at my boobs when we’re talking

who rips me off in the milk-bar and smiles his wet purple smile

who comments on my clothes. I’m not a fucking painting that needs to be told what it looks like.

who tells me where to put my hands, who wrenches me into position

like a meccano-set, who drags you around like a war

I’d shoot the man who couldn’t live without me

It goes on here.

Leave a Reply

