School or Death

I was writing a critique of the education system the other day. Is it too radical? I worried. Am I exaggerating the problem? Well, thank God I follow anarchist blogs and I have stuff like this to make me feel better.

If the school system did not exist to funnel human capital toward the people who uphold it, it [being kicked out of school] might not amount to a death threat. If a typical, unconnected-to-wealth child could forego school with reasonable chances of survival, it might not amount to a death threat. But it does. Go to school, or die. As soon as you sign on to be a teacher, this is what you’re a part of.

More true in some countries than other, but I agree with the general sentiment.

Leave a Reply

